Adios Taos…(WOW, I really do know Spanish)

Well, we seem to have gotten about as much out of Taos as possible.  We ate a shit ton of  Mexican food, drank a lot of margaritas…and, hmmmmmm, well,  that’s pretty much all I can remember; but that’s plenty right?? (Excuse my while I comb through my archives…) Oh yeah, we also went in a hot air balloon, saw some crazy ass kids throwing knives (shockingly not my own kids, although, I’m sure they were throwing knives and who knows what else when I had my back turned), saw some Indians do their thang and some Mexicans do their thang (all the while never really understanding who is who and what said thangs are) and most importantly, chilled. It is time to move on. So we are now kind of, sort of starting our trip back East, but doing so by way of a little stop over in Santa Fe. Ohhhhhhhhh, could there be more Enchantment in store? Can you stand the suspense? Get your breath bated and start waiting, cuz who knows how long it’ll take me to get the next post done.

On the road again.

Shit, almost on the road…a couple little Taos tidbits that I needed to include:

1) In another episode of “Could the world be any smaller? OMG, NO.WAY.”… how about this little doozie… I have mentioned my source for all things Taos as my Winston friend Kimberly. Her inlaws used to live in Taos, and she and her hubby had visited frequently so she was a wealth of New Mexican knowledge. Leading up to the trip we had talked a bunch about stuff to do, see, etc;  and I then while in Taos I had periodically checked in with her to tell her what we were doing, seeing, etc.  Then when we got back in town, I saw her gave her a pretty full recap.  I had mentioned that we rented a cool adobe house to stay in and had generally speaking told her where it was, but that was it. Well, on my first Taos blog post I had a picture of the cute little adobe we stayed in.  In attempt to make a long story short (yeah, right…I have no such skill and we are clearly well past that point), Kimberly saw the picture and immediately called me to say “Holy Shit (actually she probably did not say Holy shit, she is not near the trash mouth that I am), I think that is Murphy’s parent’s old house!!!!!” And what do ya know? After some fact checking, we with 100% certainty conclude that this house, that I pretty much randomly found on the internet, was in fact her inlaw’s old house and where she had spent her honeymoon and a Christmas or two.  Seriously, How about that?? Sooooooo, random. And you know I love nothing more than randomness. Well, except for cookies and cupcakes, but not to distract from my point and how I love it when a story comes together and how cool/awesome/random/OMG, could the world be any smaller…

I thought I had more pics, KG…but this is it

Look familiar?

For your trip down memory lane, although your memory lane probably does not include a madman with a tomahawk. Or maybe it does, which is slightly bizarre, ps.

2)Remember that cultural mishmash Festivus craziness bull shit we attended last post? Well, I forgot to mention that in addition to the lavender Lone Ranger and the enjoyable performance of the traditional Mexican dancing and break dancing (Ummmmm. still,  WTF) . Check out all of the famous athletes in attendance:

Kim Kardashian Ex…Reggie Bush. No Kris Humphries though.

A little MJ in the house

And Rajon Rondo…

I know that these are not near as funny on here as they were at the time as I was ducking around poles and dream catcher selling booths cracking myself up and trying to snap them being some sort of combo of fairly sneaky and totally brazen, also with the added enjoyment of my kids being totally horrified and demanding me to stop.  And I will not subject yo to them all, but no shit, I took like 20. 20 different people (mostly adults) in 20 different player jerseys (I will at this time refrain from my commentary on the horrendous fashion nonsense that is someone over the age of 12 who is not playing a sport- or even attending a sporting event- wearing a replica sport jersey; suffice it to say…bad idea. Real bad idea.)  🙂

Aren’t you so glad I made sure to add those nuggets in there? Yeah, you’re right, They could have easily been left out with no real blog enjoyment impact. Oh well.

A friend  of mine (a different friend than mentioned above…I know, it is hard to believe that I have so many friends, but let’s not focus on my popularity right now)  had suggested that as we drive from Taos to Santa Fe, we make a stop through Bandelier National Park. I, like you (I assume at least) had no idea what the fuck she was talking about and had never heard of such a place. BUT, after some research and mapping, ultimately I seconded that emotion and deemed Bandelier National Park a worthy stop. It promised a glimpse into an ancient settlement of cave dwelling Indians. And included a little hike. Both of which peak my interest. Let’s just keep our fingers crossed that this little hike is better marked than that cluster was embarked on back in that Taos Ski Valley. Cuz that hugely sucked. And I am kind of in a bad mood already.

Well, guess what?  Bandelier is a cool damn place. Of course, I have no idea the origin or what the hell kind of Indians these are…all I know is that they lived in caves which is pretty bad ass. Really bad ass, actually. Although my heart goes out to any members of the tribe (no idea what tribe of course) who were claustrophobic, because the caves were tiny.Real tiny. Like airplane bathroom tiny. Airplane bathroom tiny but with out the luxury of running water and plumbing. Poor little claustrophobic Indian dude and dudettes. 😦

Seeing that Will and DJ are both around 4 feet tall and are in a full out crouch.Told you they were tiny. Poor Lebron James could never hang here. Although At least now he has am NBA championship to fill this void.

I appreciate the authenticity, but for goodness sakes…look at this thing.  A little guard rail and or an elevator would be an appropriate use of taxpayers dollars.

What also continues to blow my mind about this place is that there have got to be thousands of people who come to through here. Which means thousands of people climb up and down these fairly rickety, totally cumbersome ladders and as far as I can tell no one seems to plunge to their death. I almost slipped like 8 or 10 times. And I was even paying attention. I know how jack asses in touristy places usually act with reckless abandon; shit,  I am 90 % of the time one of those jack asses. I betcha people have died here. Tourist people, not tribe people.  Anyway, I need to pull up an accident report from this place…maybe there is a class action lawsuit I can get in on.

.

That is little Willie all the way at the top, then me, then DJ, Charlie and Danny taking pic…scary, right?

I have no idea if I am coming down or going up but you can bet your bottom dollar (or top dollar) that I am dangerously close to breaking a leg or a neck

There was a pretty bad ass cave up there at the top, I guess reserved for the King of this place or whatever. Did people not sleep walk back then? Cuz you could seriously injure (read..kill) yourself if you woke up to tinkle and made a wrong turn!

chillin, living the cave life!

“So Deej, Now how the hell are we getting back down from this place??”

Once we regroup and attempt make our shaky climb down, we find our way to Santa Fe.

And of course once we make our way to Santa fe, we immediately make our way to get on some food. Yummmmmmmm…

And this little concoction/ house specialty… Green Chile Cheddar Apple Pie…I know it sounds kind of nasty and kind of good, and it pretty much tasted that way. Some bites were delish and some made me almost vomit.  Also, notice the stack of cookies Will has and I think we downed a cupcake before the photo shoot. We are carb loading for our sight seeing tomorrow!!

Was so busy shoving my huevos rancheros down my throat, I forgot to get a picture…but, did pause long enough to capture the almost gone coconut cream pie.

Time to get some sleep up here in Santa Fe. This place is full of cultural and historical attractions to visit. YAWN!!

Welcome to Santa Fe! Crap, we lost Will…JK he is taking the picture.

Leave a comment